Madisonville 10u

Madisonville 10u baseball players compete in their 2019 District Warm-up Tournament game against Etowah on Friday, June 14.

The best way to get ready for competition?


Sweetwater hosted the 2019 10u Baseball District Warm-up Tournament from Thursday through Sunday, with a total of nine youth teams flocking to the city’s rec fields.

Teams from Sweetwater, Madisonville, Tellico, Loudon, Kingston, Greenback, Etowah, Niota and Harriman all competed in the tournament, which comes ahead of further play for local youth teams and a state tournament, also hosted by Sweetwater, in July that is expected to include more than 140 players and 30 coaches.

Sweetwater Allstars

The Sweetwater Allstars 10u baseball team won the 2019 District Warm-up Tournament over the weekend.

The Sweetwater Allstars won the tournament, going 5-0 across the bracket. The team defeated Loudon on Thursday, Kingston and Harriman on Saturday and Greenback and Harriman again on Sunday.

Madisonville’s team went 1-2 over the length of the tournament, winning its opening game on Thursday over Etowah, then dropping matchups to Harriman on Friday and Greenback on Saturday.

Tellico was 2-2 in the tournament, losing to Harriman in its first game of the bracket on Thursday, winning Saturday games over Etowah and Niota before falling to Kingston on Sunday.

Tellico 10u

The Tellico 10u baseball team plays against Harriman in the 2019 District Warm-up Tournament on Friday, June 14.

Bryson Burgess won the tournament’s home run derby. He notched seven points in the derby’s final round on Saturday to take home the title. Henry Shamblin (5.5 points), Hunter Daffron (5.5), Kolt Correll (5) and Gus Campbell (4.5) finished in the top five in the final round of the home run derby.

Here are the rosters for each county team that competed in the weekend tournament:

Sweetwater: Bryson Burgess; Hunter Daffron; Nolan Dacus; Kolt Correll; Gus Campbell; Landon Albright; Bryer Oody; Brock Frye; Henry Shamblin; Corbin Nile; Riley Twilbeck; Coach Josh Burgess; Coach Chris Shamblin; Coach Jason Dacus.

Madisonville- Chase Nichols; Eli Byrum; Trevan Graham; Braxton Hull; Aidan Cochran; Mason Corcoran; Braydon Harris; Jordan Giles; Connor Watson; Kaden Stallcup; Chris Williams; Isaac Mills.

Tellico- Gage Webb; Ryan Saffles; Brandon Cook; Caden McConkecy; Trevor Kibler; Jaden Driver; Enrique Medina; Cayden Smith; James Gregory; Cayden Kirkland; Landon Murphy.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.