Monroe County Chamber of Commerce annual awards were handed out recently, with several local people receiving honors.

Business Man of the Year was awarded to Eric Hazuda.

Sponsored by JTEKT, Business Man of the Year is an award that recognizes a male business leader with significant accomplishments in business and/or community service.

Business Woman of the Year recognition went to Erin Russell.

Sponsored by Simmons Bank, Business Woman of the Year is an award that recognizes a female business leader with significant accomplishments in business and/or community service.

There were four levels of the Business of the Year award, with several winners based on total number of employees: Archer’s Total Home Health won the 1-50 level, which is sponsored by People’s Bank of East Tennessee; Food City won the 51-150 level, which is sponsored by Cleveland State Community College; Aeroflex U.S.A. earned the 151-250 level recognition, which is sponsored by Fairweather Financial; and MasterCraft won the 251+ level award, which is sponsored by Volunteer Home Mortgage.

Business of the year recognizes a chamber member business that has excelled and continues to make significant contributions to the Monroe County Area.

Benton’s Country Ham won the Tourism Award.

Sponsored by Monroe County Tourism, this recognition honors a chamber member or business whose contributions have stimulated tourism or development in the area.

Team Lexi was honored as the Organization of the Year.

Sponsored by Chota Community Health Services, Organization of the Year is an award for a chartered organization whose programs, service or involvement in the community have shown leadership and vision in improving the community.

The Educator of the Year award went to Brittany Powell.

Sponsored by Monroe County Board of Education, the Educator of the Year is a person who exhibits leadership, innovation or skill in education or matters affecting education.

Karen Carey was awarded the Monroe Leadership Excellence honor.

Sponsored by T.R.D.A., this award recognizes a graduate of the Monroe leadership who resides in the county, provides civic leadership in a non-profit or government environment within the county and demonstrates professional excellence.

The Diplomat of the Year award, sponsored by the Monroe County Chamber of Commerce, was given to Denise Graff.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.